Rural Development Chairman

  • Picure: Finbarr O'RourkeJoseph Brady
  • 086 2775887

Joe farms in Stradone, Co Cavan. He is a suckler cow & beef farmer. He has previously been Chairman of Cavan IFA and also Ulster/North Leinster Regional Chairman. He is also a member of the IFA Rules Committee. He was elected Chairman of the Rural Development Committee in April 2016.

IFA Rural Development Executive

Gerry Gunning

Gerry has been deeply involved in Rural Development Policies for many years and has been at the centre of negotiations with the Government and the EU on key CAP farm schemes and investment supports. He represents IFA on many working groups dealing with Rural Development matters at both national and EU level.

He is a graduate of the UCD Agricultural Faculty and holds a Diploma in Accountancy and Finance. Gerry is from a farming background in Co. Roscommon.

About the Rural Development Committee

  • The Rural Development Committee is made up of representatives from each county who are involved in various sectors of farming.
  • The Committee deals with all aspects of Rural Development, mainly under CAP Pillar II which underpin farm income and compliments the Pillar I support.
  • Key measures where members have a big input include the Areas of Natural Constraints (formerly Disadvantaged Areas), Agri-environment Schemes, Farm Investment Support, and the Leader Programme.

Rural Development Committee 2017

CHAIRMAN Joseph Brady 086 2775887
Vice-chairman Patrick Gilhooley 086 2903486
CARLOW Marian Dalton 087 6750012
CAVAN  John Beglan 087 7651516
CLARE Denis Tuohy 086 8925915
CORK (C) Donal Howard 086 2307317
CORK (N) Martin O’Doherty 087 6850315
CORK (W) Donal O’Donovan 086 8371753
DONEGAL Andrew McShea 086 8354450
DUBLIN Liam Hopkins 087 7939569
GALWAY Eamonn Burke 087 6220607
KERRY Dermot Kelly 086 8112843
KILDARE Joe Morrissey 087 0524136
KILKENNY Richard Meaney 086 8310209
LAOIS Henry Burns 086 2753575
LEITRIM Patrick Gilhooley 086 2903486
LIMERICK Roger Keogh 085 1325036
LONGFORD Emmet Duffy 086 8734292
LOUTH Matthew McGreehan 086 8266554
MAYO Michael Biggins  087 2895966
MEATH Tom Finegan 086 1720420
MONAGHAN Brian Treanor 087 2253561
OFFALY Pat Walsh 087 2583373
ROSCOMMON John Hanley 0868 125211
SLIGO  Eddie Davitt 087 2257587
TIPP. NTH William Moloney 087 2332103
TIPP. STH Simon Ryan 087 8305741
WATERFORD John Heffernan 087 8229804
WESTMEATH Richard O’Brien 087 2621512
WEXFORD Jer O’Mahony 087 9799505
WICKLOW Joe Gahan 087 2250652
CO-OPTION SACs: Padraic Joyce 087 2898725
CO-OPTION HILLFARMING: Pat Dunne 087 4109259
Copyright 2019 © - The Irish Farmers Association - Web Design Dublin by Big Dog