SAC Contacts

Cross Sectors
SAC Contacts

Chairman SAC Project Team

  • Pat Dunne
  •  087 4109259

Pat is a hill sheep farmer from Glenmalure, Co Wicklow. He is also Chairman of the IFA Hill Farming Committee. He has been actively involved in hill issues in County Wicklow and is a member of the Wicklow Uplands Council and is currently Chairman of their sub-committee the Wicklow Uplands Vegetation Management Group. Pat also represents IFA on Comhairle na Tuaithe.

IFA SAC Executive

Gerry Gunning

Gerry is deeply involved in Structural and Rural Development Policies for many years and has been at the centre of negotiations with the Government and the EU on key farm income and investment supports – REPS, FWM, Less Favoured Areas etc. He is a graduate of the UCD Agricultural Faculty and is from a farming background in Co. Roscommon. He represents IFA on the EU & National Committees dealing with Rural Development.

About the SAC Project Team

  • The SAC Project Team deals with the implications of designations of land arising from the EU Habitats Directive.
  • The impact of the Directive is very significant on various habitat types ranging from Blanket Bogs, Shannon Callows, Hen Harrier, Chough, Sand Dunes, Raised Bogs, Eskers, River Margins, Fens, Salt Marshes and other smaller designated sites.
  • The Project Team makes representations on behalf of farmers who have designations and restrictions imposed on them. They seek mitigation of these restrictions and compensation where farm income is impacted.
  • There is on-going monitoring through the Designated Areas Committee with the NPWS. Also IFA is one of the farmer/landowners representatives on the Designated Areas Appeals Board which deals with appeals by landowners to the designation of the land.

SAC Project Team 2017

CHAIRMAN: Pat Dunne 087 4109259
CARLOW: Michael Purcell 086 0677905
CLARE: Michael Davoren 087 2252080
CORK (C): Finbarr O’Mahony 086 3092942
DUBLIN: Philip Maguire 087 2765237
KERRY: Pat O’Shea 086 1738187
KILDARE: Kevin Hanlon 087 6577520
KILKENNY: Adrian Hayden 086 3842254
LAOIS: Paul Maher 087 6204801
LIMERICK: Michael O’Flynn 086 8254000
LONGFORD: Gerry Gearty 087 2877069
LOUTH: Liam Woods 087 6674622
MAYO: Martin Joyce 086 3172069
OFFALY: Thomas Langtry 086 3149124
SLIGO: David Lillie 087 792 6737
TIPP. NTH: Philip Kinane 086 8722791
TIPP. STH: George Mason 086 811 6376
WATERFORD: Colin Harty 087 648 5246
WICKLOW: Pat Dunne 087 410 9259
Copyright 2019 © - The Irish Farmers Association - Web Design Dublin by Big Dog