Brussels Daily
12 Jun 2015


Brussels Daily

President Juncker marks 30th anniversary of the Schengen Agreement
On 14 June, Europe is celebrating the 30th anniversary of the Schengen Agreement. This was signed on 14 June 1985 and marked the start of the process that abolished internal border controls between Member States. To mark the occasion, President Juncker, alongside Prime Minister of Luxembourg Xavier Bettel and European Parliament President Martin Schulz, will deliver a speech at the ceremony taking place in the village of Schengen, Luxembourg, tomorrow 13 June at 10:30 CET. The original signatories of the Schengen Agreement were Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. It was integrated into the legal framework of the EU with the Treaty of Amsterdam in 1999. The present-day Schengen area covers all the EU Member States – except the UK, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania and Croatia – as well as the Schengen associated countries Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. Over 1.25 billion journeys within the Schengen area made every year. Apart from abolishing the controls at the internal borders, the Schengen cooperation created common rules covering checks at the external borders, harmonised the conditions of entry and the rules on visas for short stays, enhanced police cooperation and strengthened the cooperation between judicial authorities. Commissioner for Migration, Home Affairs and Citizenship Dimitris Avramopoulos said: “On a continent where nations once shed blood to defend their territories, today borders only exist on maps. Removing borders, ensuring safety and building trust took many years after two devastating world wars. The creation of the Schengen area is one of the greatest achievements of the EU and it is irreversible.” Find out more in the Schengen Brochure and videos online.
EU announces new funding for the Caribbean
EU High Representative / Vice-President of the Commission Federica Mogherini signed a €346 million new regional funding programme with the Caribbean region until 2020. This represents more than a doubling of the funds that were available in previous years (€165 million). The programme, designed together with the Caribbean representative organisation CARIFORUM, establishes jointly agreed priorities for bi-regional cooperation. The signing took place on the occasion of the EU-CELAC (Community of Latin American and Caribbean States) Summit and the EU-CARIFORUM High Level Event in Brussels. Vice-President Mogherini said: “The EU and the Caribbean have strong historic, economic and cultural ties, based on common values. With this new funding, we want to further strengthen our common efforts towards more inclusive and sustainable development and prosperity and will continue to stand by the side of the Caribbean people to continue to develop our excellent, mutually beneficial partnership based on respect and common values.” Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development, Neven Mimica said: “With the signing of the regional programme we can now mobilise resources for the implementation of our jointly defined priorities. This also illustrates not only the EU’s continued commitment but also continued engagement in the region.” More information can be found in the press release.

Read today’s edition in full:  Daily News 12 – 06 – 2015

Copyright 2020 © - The Irish Farmers Association - Web Design Dublin by Big Dog