Farming Sectors

Chairman IFA Forestry Committee

Vincent Nally

086 8154826

Executive Secretary IFA Forestry Committee

GeraldineOSullivan photo




Vincent is married to Annette and operates a dry stock enterprise in partnership with his son Edward at Emper in County Westmeath. They have planted forestry on four occasions, which has really enhanced their farming enterprise.

A passionate advocate for all things rural, Vincent holds a BSc in Rural Development from NUI Maynooth.

Geraldine O’Sullivan MScAgr (Forestry) is a professional forester with twenty years’ experience in the forest sector. She first worked as a Research Assistant in UCD on the ECOWOOD project researching the environmental impacts of harvesting on peaty sites, having completed her Masters.

She progressed to work with Donegal County Council on the EU Peace and Reconciliation project Forest Link, which examined European models of best practice in adding value to timber and developing community woodlands.  She then worked in the private forest sector to develop harvesting and logistic models to supply forest biomass into the bioenergy sector.

Geraldine has been with the IFA Farm Forest section since 2008 where she has overseen the implementation of two Forestry Programmes and secured funding of over €480 million to support farmers to expand and mobilise timber under the current Forestry Programme 2014 – 2020.

About the Forestry Committee

  • IFA Farm Forestry Committee is chaired by Vincent Nally and represented by committee members elected by IFA’s 29 county executives.
  • IFA National Farm Forestry Committee represents the interests of private forest owners on  a broad range of issues affecting farm income.
  • The Committee carries out work at local, National and European level to represent the interests of all farm forestry members to optimise sector development and forest policy.

Forestry Committee




CHAIRMAN Vincent Nally 086 8154826
VICE CHAIR Charlie Doherty 086 8220247
CAVAN Cathel Rudden 086 3248838
CARLOW Michael Doyle 087 9106151
CLARE Martin Murphy 086 8396197
CORK (C) John O’Brien 087 2363530
CORK (N) John Magner 086 1591585
CORK (W) Tadhg Healy 087  2357352
DONEGAL Charlie Doherty 086 8220247
DUBLIN Derek McGrath 087 9598394
GALWAY Gerard Nally 087 2751502
KERRY Jason Fleming 087 6739343
KILDARE Karl Matuschka 087 980 7611
KILKENNY Andrew O’Carroll 087 2356029
LAOIS Thomas Cosby 086 8519272
LEITRIM Jim Brennan 087 6469796
LIMERICK John O’Connell 086 8109981
LONGFORD Francis Smith 087 8394237
LOUTH John Roche 086 8170690
MAYO John Granahan 086 2502811
MEATH Willie Fallon 086 8794075
MONAGHAN James Corr 087 8226841
OFFALY Murtagh Connor 087 6193506
ROSCOMMON  Ambrose Kilcline 086 3440778
SLIGO Michael O’Dowd 085 1536052
TIPP. NTH Paddy Ryan 087 2683508
TIPP. STH Francis Connolly 086 1065897
WATERFORD Gabriel Foley 086 6025836
WESTMEATH  Claudia Marl 087 7839228
WEXFORD Nicholas Sweetman 087 2839554
WICKLOW Charles Tottenham 087 6868717
Copyright 2020 © - The Irish Farmers Association - Web Design Dublin by Big Dog