Sheep Contacts

Farming Sectors
Sheep Contacts

Chairman IFA Sheep Committee

  •  Sean Dennehy
  •  087-8103406

Director of Livestock

Kevin Kinsella

Kevin Kinsella is the Director of Livestock with the Irish Farmers’ Association.

He is a Board Member of the Irish Cattle Breeding Federation, Sheep Ireland, a member of the EU Commission Beef and Sheepmeat Advisory Committees, a member of the COPA/COGECA Beef and Sheep Working Parties in Brussels.  He is also a member of the Bord Bia Technical Committees on Beef and Sheep Quality Assurance.

About the Sheep Committee

At National and European level the National Sheep Committee effectively lobbies on behalf of all sheep farmers on the issues of critical importance to members such as incomes, lamb prices and premium support.

The priority issues for the National Sheep Committee are as follows:

  • Strong lamb prices
  • Adequate ewe premium payments
  • A fairer system of EU sheep policy
  • Increased headage payments
  • A positive hill sheep policy involving REPS/NHA
  • Strong opposition to lamb imports under WTO


CHAIRMAN Sean Dennehy 0878103406
VICE CHAIRMAN Kevin Comiskey 0877960914
CARLOW John Hanbidge 0879968400
CAVAN Bernard Lynch 0868190283
CLARE John Fitzgerald 0863756591
CORK (C) Frank O’Driscoll 0872680356
CORK (N) Edmond Roche 0872709426
CORK (W) Denis O’Leary 0863913303
DONEGAL Dessie Cunningham 0871482489
DUBLIN Richard Ryan 0872745345
GALWAY David Harney 0876402996
KERRY Francis Foley 0876711212
KILDARE Liam Heaney 0834443056
KILKENNY Brian Nicholson 0872471591
LAOIS Joseph Burke 0872020089
LEITRIM Kevin Comiskey 0877960914
LIMERICK Sean Lavery 0878551286
LONGFORD Luke Casey 0868571295
LOUTH Eoin White 0877571417
MAYO Patrick Jnr Chambers 0872348697
MEATH Edward Cassidy 0876378590
MONAGHAN Colm McKenna 0879544687
OFFALY Enda Bracken 0876526315
ROSCOMMON Michael Glennon 0868597414
SLIGO Rose McDonnell 0877914375
Tipperary (Nth) JP Ryan 0872870412
Tipperary (Sth) John Crosse 0866065666
WATERFORD Patrick Cooney 0831398796
WESTMEATH William Fox 0877973590
WEXFORD Pat Murray 0878281643
WICKLOW Selena MacKenzie 0863210988
Copyright 2019 © - The Irish Farmers Association - Web Design Dublin by Big Dog