Rural Development Committee

Michael Biggins

Rural Development Chair


Denis Griffin

Senior Policy Executive


About the Rural Development Committee

  • The Rural Development Committee is made up of representatives from each county who are involved in various sectors of farming.
  • The Committee deals with all aspects of Rural Development, mainly under CAP Pillar II which underpin farm income and compliments the Pillar I support.
  • Key measures where members have a big input include the Areas of Natural Constraints (formerly Disadvantaged Areas), Agri-environment Schemes, Farm Investment Support, and the Leader Programme.

Rural Development Committee

CHAIRMANMichael Biggins087 2895966
VicechairmanDenis Tuohy086 8925915
CARLOWMarian Dalton087 6750012
CAVAN John Beglan087 7651516
CLAREDenis Tuohy086 8925915
CORK (C)Donal Howard086 2307317
CORK (N)Tom O’Keeffe086 0881101
CORK (W)Donal O’Donovan086 8371753
DONEGALAndrew McShea086 8354450
DUBLINLiam Hopkins087 7939569
GALWAYEamonn Burke087 6220607
KERRYDermot Kelly086 8112843
KILDAREJoe Morrissey087 1812326
KILKENNYRichard Meaney087 1812326
LAOISHenry Burns086 2753575
LEITRIMJames Gallagher087 0568270
LIMERICKRoger Keogh085 1325036
LONGFORDEmmet Duffy086 8734292
LOUTHMatthew McGreehan086 8266554
MAYOMaria Ryan 087 6655283
MEATHTom Finegan086 1720420
MONAGHANBrian Treanor087 2253561
OFFALYPat Walsh087 2583373
ROSCOMMONJohn Hanley0868 125211
SLIGO Eddie Davitt087 2257587
TIPP. NTHCon Mackey087 6539008
TIPP. STHSimon Ryan087 8305741
WATERFORDJohn Heffernan087 8229804
WESTMEATHRichard O’Brien087 2621512
WEXFORDJer O’Mahony087 9799505
WICKLOWJoe Gahan087 2250652
CO-OPTION SACs:Padraic Joyce087 2898725
CO-OPTION HILLFARMING:Michael Biggins087 2895966