IFA News

Nominees Confirmed as Paddy Fitzgerald Awards Return

The nine nominees for the Paddy Fitzgerald Awards have been announced.

Each of the IFA County Executives in Munster has put forward a nominee for the Awards night, which will take place on Sunday, Oct 30th in Adare in Co Limerick. The Awards didn’t take place in 2020 due to Covid.

EU Commissioner Mairead McGuinness will be the guest speaker on the evening.

IFA President Tim Cullinan said the Paddy Fitzgerald Awards represent the spirit of volunteerism & the selfless dedication of people to the betterment of their communities.

“Each of the nine nominees has the honour of being chosen by their County Executive & I want to wish all of them well on the night. The cornerstone of IFA’s work is the willingness of farmers to give of their time in representing their fellow farmers. It is only fitting that this should be recognised and I would like to thank FBD for their support for this prestigious event”.

FBD Trust Chairman Michael Berkery said, “The late Paddy Fitzgerald worked unselfishly to better the lives of farmers, first through his work with Macra in Co Limerick and then in the NFA and Cork Marts IMP. In FBD Insurance, we value the community role played by Paddy Fitzgerald and his achievements for farmers the length and breadth of the country. FBD Insurance is delighted to support this award and we hope to see the spirit of Paddy Fitzgerald live on for many years to come”.

IFA National Treasurer and Returning Officer Martin Stapleton, who is the Chairman of the Trustees, said the Paddy Fitzgerald Awards were an opportunity to celebrate those who put themselves forward on behalf of their neighbours and their communities.

“Every rural community can point to achievements that would not be possible without people stepping up to make it a better place. The Paddy Fitzgerald Awards celebrate those who can say they left their mark.”

Clare            Martin Murphy                  Cahermurphy, Kilmihil

Cork Central  Gerard O’Connell             Rathanker, Passage West

Nth Cork       Mary Twomey-Casey       Johstown, Glanworth

West Cork     Neilie O’Leary                  Inchinagown, Coomhola, Bantry

Kerry            Bridget O’Connor            Gleann na Gealt, Camp, Tralee

Limerick        Tom Hogan                       Inchacombe          Anglesboro

Nth Tipp        Padraig Moran                 Coorevan, Borrisokane

Sth Tipp        Victor Quinlan               Baptistgrange, Lisronagh, Clonmel

Waterford      Michael Murphy               Coolbeggan, Tallow

Related Articles