Environment Committee

John Murphy

Chair IFA Environmental & Rural Affairs Committee

086-2795828 [email protected]

Geraldine O’Sullivan

Senior Policy Executive

01-4260343 [email protected]

The roles of the Environment & Rural Affairs Committee include:

  • Removing unnecessary and excessive bureaucracy which is being imposed on farmers.
  • Creating a greater understanding that farmers in recent years have spent over €2.5bn ensuring that their farms conform to the highest environmental standards and have the most emission efficient food production system in Europe.

Other important issues are:

  • Ensuring proposed climate legislation does not hinder the development of the sustainable agri-food sector.
  • Securing changes to existing hedge cutting dates.
  • On-going support of farm families impacted by infrastructure projects.
  • Opposing unjustifiable changes being imposed on rural dwellers.
  • Seeking a more practical solution to the on-going farming by date and slurry spreading difficulties.
  • Continuing to identify on-farm cost savings through the voluntary Smart Farming initiative.

Environment & Rural Affairs Committee

CHAIRMANJohn Murphy086 2795828
VICE CHAIRMark Connors086 3866426
CARLOWJohn Duffy086 1961408
CAVANSeamus Dolan087 2938562
CLAREKieran Woods086 3708833
CORK (C)Paraic Browne087 2731883
CORK (N)Pat Coakley 086 8090891
CORK (W)John Beechinor 087 2969242
DONEGALMichael Chance086 8031858
DUBLINPhilip Maguire087 2765237
GALWAYHenry Walsh087 2302537
KERRYTommy Culloty 086 6030293
KILDARETom Kelly087 6410178
KILKENNYEamon Sheehan086 6098300
LAOISLiam Delaney087 9611058
LEITRIMDavid Notely087 4127081
LIMERICKBarry Murphy086 8577260
LONGFORDEmmet Duffy086 8734292
LOUTHPeter Dunne 089 2674359
MAYOJohn Davitt087 6541853
MEATHMartin Heaney086 2318174
MONAGHANNiall McMeel087 3962360
OFFALYEnda Bracken087 6526315
ROSCOMMONJim O’Connor086 2502561
SLIGOBernie Finan087 2273224
TIPP. NTHSeamus Hayes087 1263026
TIPP. STHMichael J. Tobin086 1685169
WATERFORDMark Connors086 3866426
WESTMEATHJames Geoghegan086 2616018
WEXFORDThomas Doyle086 2403231
WICKLOWDavid Johnson086 8540658