CarlowDublinIFA ElectionsKildareKilkennyLaoisOffalySouth LeinsterWexfordWicklow

Online Debates for IFA South Leinster Election Announced

IFA National Treasurer/Returning Officer Martin Stapleton has announced the list of online debates for the election of South Leinster Chairman.

“We will have online debates to give county officers and branch delegates in six of the county executives of South Leinster the opportunity to hear from the two candidates,” he said.

The full list is as follows:

Wed 25 NovCarlow[email protected]
Thurs 26 NovKildare[email protected]
Mon 30 NovKilkenny[email protected]
Tues 1 DecOffaly[email protected]
Wed 2 DecDublin[email protected]
Thurs 3 DecWicklow[email protected]

Francie Gorman from the Ballinakill branch has been nominated by Laois IFA.  He was Chairman of Laois County Executive until last February.

Wexford County Executive has nominated their current Chairman James Kehoe from the Monagear branch.

It’s the first time in the history of the Association that an election of this scale is taking place by postal ballot.

Martin Stapleton said given the circumstances presented by COVID-19, and the restrictions imposed by public health guidelines, the National Council decided to proceed with all elections that fall due this year. Meetings in person are not possible under current public health restrictions, so we have to put alternative arrangements in place.

Postal voting by county officers and branch delegates in the eight county executives of South Leinster will take place in early December. The system is modelled on the postal vote used for Seanad Eireann elections.

The count is scheduled for mid-December, in line with public health guidelines that will be in place at that time.

Related Articles