Sheep Committee

Sean Dennehy

Chairman IFA National Sheep Committee

087 8103406

Sean is a lowland sheep farmer from Carrigdrohid, Co. Cork.  He runs a 76ha far of 300 ewes and 100 replacements close to the banks of  the river Lee.

Sean has been a member of the IFA Natioanl Sheep Committee since 2011.

He is a member of the EU Sheep Civil Dialogue Committee and COPA Sheep Working Party for the past two years in Brussels.  He is also a member of the Bord Bia Meat and Livestock Board on the marketing and promotion of Irish meat.

Sean Dennehy believes the sheep sector is a very important farming enterprise across Europe and can deliver real growth at farm level and contribute to economic recovery. In addition, he believes the sheep sector is critically important in terms of its social and environmental contributions to rural areas.

Tomas Bourke

Senior Policy Executive

01 4260340

Tomas Bourke is the Irish Farmers’ Association Livestock and Animal Health Executive. He sits on the copa-cogeca Animal Health and Welfare working party in Brussels. He is also a member of the AHI Implementation groups for both BVD and johnes disease.

About the Sheep Committee

At National and European level the National Sheep Committee effectively lobbies on behalf of all sheep farmers on the issues of critical importance to members such as incomes, lamb prices and premium support.

The priority issues for the National Sheep Committee are as follows:

  • Strong lamb prices
  • Adequate ewe premium payments
  • A fairer system of EU sheep policy
  • Increased headage payments
  • A positive hill sheep policy involving REPS/NHA
  • Strong opposition to lamb imports under WTO

Sheep Committee

CHAIRMANSean Dennehy 0878103406
VICE CHAIRMANKevin Comiskey 0877960914
CARLOWJoe Nolan0876355016
CAVANBernard Lynch0868190283
CLARETom Holmes0878505028
CORK (W)James Daly0863988952
CORK (N)Edmond Roche0872709426
CORK (C)Frank O’Driscoll0872680356
DONEGALAdrian Gallagher0876760116
DUBLINRichard Ryan0872745345
GALWAYDavid Harney 0876402996
KERRYFrancis Foley0876711212
KILDAREDenis Halpin0872988557
KILKENNYLeeson Neale0868181128
LAOISPeter Luttrell0862480934
LEITRIMKevin Comiskey0877960914
LIMERICKEdward P. Moriarty0861925479
LONGFORDLuke Casey 0868571295
LOUTHCiaran Sheelan 0876665183
MAYOMartin Shaughnessy Jnr0877949969
MEATHRonan Delany 0868201739
MONAGHANMarcus Stewart0860717396
OFFALYMarita Phelan0876663564
ROSCOMMONPatrick Leonard0879420620
SLIGORose McDonnell0877914375
TIPPERARY (NTH)JP Ryan0872870412
TIPPERARY (STH)John Crosse 0866065666
WATERFORDFrank Cunningham0874329159
WESTMEATHJack Mills0857706399
WEXFORDPatrick Murray 0878281643
WICKLOW Selena Mackenzie 0863210988